skip navigation

San Antonio Lonestars Win 2023 Texas Cup Classic 60+

By Admin, 09/04/23, 7:15PM CDT


San Antonio Lonestars Win 2023 Texas Cup Classic

The SA Lonestars (SAMSBL) finished 5-0 in the 60 Division of the Texas Cup Classic.  The Lonestars won the Championship game 9-4 over the Rio Grand Valley Storm.  Joe Capparelli started on the mound for the Lonestars, giving up two runs and two hits in 6 2/3 innings.  Ironman Brett Graves finished the game on the hill.  Joe Capparelli, Jack Bradley, Randy Lash, and Brett Graves lead the team offensively in the Championship game.  Santiago Gonzales, Bill Rector, and Willi Jutze also had key hits in the final. 
            For the entire weekend Bill Hanley, Tom Behringer, Joe Capparelli, Randy Lash, Jack Bradley, and Brett Graves led the team offensively.  Joe Capparelli took the offensive MVP along with a new Mizuno bat as his Offensive MVP prize.  The pitchers: Brett Graves, Joe Capparelli, Alden Stiefel, Kevin Hagan, and Glynn Solomon, all pitched well in the brutal Texas heat.  Brett Graves was the Lonestars pitching MVP (Rawlings Glove Prize) throwing two complete games and finishing up the Championship game.  Walter De LaRosa, Bill Hanley and Alden Stiefel handled the catching duties.
The Lonestars would like to thank Joe Banasik, League President of Houston Hardball League (MSBL) for the hospitality, great fields, and fabulous prizes that included rings for the 2023 Texas Cup Classic!